I Am Free

I am free.

Three simple words that carry such meaning and weight.

It’s Independence Day here in America, one of my favorite days, not because of the cook-outs, but because of the celebration of freedom. It’s a day that makes me stop and think about my country and all that it affords me. I am a free woman in the greatest country in the world. I can do anything I set my mind to here. I have been afforded a life free of tyranny, free of oppression, free of retaliation. I have made decisions in my life that have caused me to take the path less travelled, and it’s OK here. I am free to do that.

I love my country.

We have many faults, and we can be obnoxious, and there are many broken things in our country, but the freedom we enjoy supersedes all the negatives. On this day, the dissention we experience in Washington doesn’t matter. On this day the problems each family experiences in the wake of decisions being made in the government doesn’t matter. On this day the rivalry between presidential candidates doesn’t matter. On this day my life choices, mistakes and triumphs both don’t matter. All that matters is Freedom. As a country and as an individual, we are free and that is what this day is about.

I wish you a wonderful day and I hope your celebrations with family and friends bring you great joy.

We are free.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, The Day To Day, The Writing Life

One response to “I Am Free

  1. Pingback: It’s All About Independence | Losing A Person and Finding Myself – Major Weight-loss Journey

Leave a Reply

