The Week In Review

WordPress

Since there are people reading this blog who are in the same boat, trying to get published, build a platform and establish themselves as a writer, I will post a recap of my activities from time to time to generate some discussion about what it takes to get published, what things work, what doesn’t work and what steps one took towards the goal. Please jump in and share your activities. You never know if it will help others.

This week I split my blog into two blogs. One is now Losing A Person and Finding Myself (a weight loss story), and this one is my writing blog. The results have been well received. I posted some older essays which garnered new followers to the blog. Makes me think it’s a good idea to re-post every now and then posts that you feel are strong. People miss them the first time around.

I was informed that I was on the Creative Writing page at WordPress. How I was there is a mystery to me. It must be the tags I’m using. Could be that there was a lot of activity from my blog and maybe it brought some attention? I don’t know, but I like that it happened. Now, I’d like to shoot for being “Pressed”. If you read something on this blog that you like, hit the Press button please.  I would appreciate it greatly.

I submitted an essay to Guideposts Magazine this week. I’m not a religious person, but I am spiritual, and the essay is about a profound experience I had in my twenties. I can’t post it because that is considered to be publishing a piece and it makes it less marketable. I am waiting to see what my lawyer says about the Real Simple essay contest’s terms and conditions. I want to know if you give up the rights to your work by entering the contest. That is how it was with the Purina contest, so I didn’t enter it.

I am planning many book reviews. Some are how -to’s on writing, some are fiction, and some are general interest books. I am being approached my authors to review their books which is exciting. I am debating whether to post only favorable reviews or if I should post both favorable and negative reviews. They both serve to inform the public, but I am uncomfortable writing a negative review.  I’ll keep you posted on this subject.

Thanks for reading and following me.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under The Day To Day

Leave a Reply

