Book Review – You Are A Writer, So Act Like One – Jeff Goins

Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

The title made me notice this book. It was offerred for free on Amazon last week, but I missed that offerring. I bought it, since the author seems to be everywhere. He seems to know what he’s talking about, so I took the plunge and paid for the book.

As a beginning writer seeking out information on publishing and the writing life, I am doing a lot of reading. Some of the information is redundant. The basics being touted by everybody. Goins take on it seemed more believable than others, like he was writing from experience not unsubstantiated research. Why do I say experience, again, I’ve seen him around the internet at prominant websites that he couldn’t be on if he wasn’t the writer he claims to be.

His premise is simple. You have to write. You have to market yourself and build a platform. He gives you his take on that. But the message he keeps coming back to is doing the work of writing. Unlike other “experts” that tout the riches to be had freelancing, Goins says the pay isn’t good (when you are starting out, it isn’t) and I believe it make always stink for some people. Since marketing is so vital to progression in this industry. Not everyone can market themselves effectively.

I have yet to read an author other than Goins that says you have to write for yourself, not for others. By writing for yourself, the following will come as a result, if you are authentic. He says you do have to have talent, but that the platform will “bring the gatekeepers to your door”. He does say you can accomplish this in a short period of time, which I question. It isn’t easy to build a platform and it does take a long time to accomplish, no matter what he says. It’s part of doing what he says to do; do the work of writing. Platform is a numbers game, and he says it’s about building relationships. Well, it’s been my experience that relationships take time and effort and they will yield positive results if you work at it. So his saying it will happen in a few months, I don’t believe to be the case.

For those of us working towards our first book, he does reccommend building your platform early on. Do not wait to do this. This I believe to be true. Because it takes time. OK enough about time, I’ve made my case for it. I say read the book, and then apply what you’ve learned, and do what he says: Write. Keep writing. Keeping working and dreaming and moving forward. I say, buy the book if you are at the beginning of your writing career. He practices what he preaches. I am glad I read the book and spent time with this author. Now we will see how his advice works for me.

5 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Book Review – You Are A Writer, So Act Like One – Jeff Goins

  1. Great post! Thanks for the insight! I will check it out

  2. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday #3: You Are A Writer..by Jeff Goins « Reading 'En Vogue'

  3. Pingback: Review: You Are A Writer, by Jeff Goins | God With Us: Finding Joy

Leave a Reply

